The capital and port of the island is Myrina, with a population of 5,000 inhabitants.
It is built on the same position which was the ancient city with the same name.Stretched out in front on two beaches which have between of them, a steepy and rocky peninsula, with the imposing castle and a wonderful view to the sea.
It is a beautiful town built in a traditional style. The sights of the city are: Karatzadeios Library, the Cathedral dedicated to the Holy Trinity with two wonderful belltowers, the Archaeological - Byzantine Museum with the largest collection of archaeological findings.
The harbor is one of the major points of interest in the city in which located several services,too.
From here starts the shopping street that connects the two bays.
Myrina divided in two settlements: the "Chas" and the "Andronis". The "Chas" is Russian word that means "station" and maintained by the years in which the brothers Orlof, had beleaguered Turks in the castle of Myrina. For the name of the settlement "Andronis", there are two points. The first is based on the relative myth according to, women of Lemnos cast all men of the island, from the Cape Petassos because they had dropped out them because of the stench of their bodies. At first, the area was named "Androfonion" and later "Andronion (Andronis). Although, most likely is the second version in which the settlement recieved the name of Andronikos III Palaiologos (1328-1341).
The castle: It dates from the 12th AD century and was built on the ruins of earlier Pelasgians wall. It is a registered trademark of the settlement and its' view is phantasmagorial when illuminated at night. The view that is breathtaking is unique since everyone can see even Athos, according to the verse of Sophocles' "scare away Limnia buff". In the castle there are freely around 200 deer, which are another special touch to the landscape. The present castle view dates up to 1207, when the Venetians hegemonies of the island, repaired it.
The Romeikos Gialos: North of the castle, Romeikos Gialos is one of the two main districts of the city with fabulous neoclassical mansions, all built in the second half of the 19th century. It was the "Greek quarter" of the years of Ottoman domination and was named with this name, as opposed to the Turkish Yialos, located east of the castle and was the place where the Turks lived. These houses, testify the strength and the richness of the inhabitants of Lemnos who worked as traders in the cosmopolitan centers of the season, Odessa, Trieste and Alexandria.
The Archaeological Museum: The Archaeological Museum situated To the Romeikos Gialos, with very interesting exhibits from the excavations of the Archaeological Service and of the Italian Archaeological School. Its' rooms are extremely elegant and attentive. The museum idea for the presentation of exhibits from prehistoric to the Byzantine period, is very impressive.
The Museum includes the following collections:
- Prehistoric finds in Poliochni
- Archaic - Roman finds in Kaveirio
- Geometrical - Hellenistic finds in Hephaestus
- Prehistoric Finds in Koukonisi
- Findings in the rescue excavations in Lemnos.
The Ecclesiastical Museum: In a short distance located the Metropolitan Building which houses the Ecclesiastical Museum of the island with many dishes, icons, vestments and other sacred relics. Just beyond is the Cathedral of the Holy Trinity which was built with fishers' money inhabitants of Lemnos in position of an old wooden church, in which Metropolitan of the island, Ioakim hanged by the Turks in 1870.
The Temple of Artemis: Near the city and into the area of the hotel complex "Porto Palace", situated the Temple of Artemis, which discovered in 1993. The Sanctuary (in various phases of the Archaic to the Hellenistic period) except the main building has outdoor paved area, each of which there were rooms, auxiliary worship.
Three villages near Myrina worth the visit are: Horns, Kaspakas with the beautiful beach of Agios Ioannis and Agios Dimitrios refugee village from Reis Ntere of m.Asias highly-developed village. Also nearby, quaint villages are Platys and Thanos with perhaps the most beautiful beaches of the island and fine restaurants.
In the central plain of the island, we find Atsiki. The name of the village comes from ancient times. When comes from Athens and lives here klirouchoi, gave it the name "Attiki" either in memory of their homeland, or because of they planted attikes (olive or fig trees) to the fertile plain. Later with the "tsitakismo" (Tsitakismos is the language idiom in which the" t "is pronounced as" CF ") prevailing on the island, the name became "Atsiki".
Atsiki is the Head-Village, 22km. from Myrina, near to the airport, with 800 residents. The inhabitants there, produce cereals, grapes and livestock products. Apart from the women's cooperative pastry, it operates carbonated soft drinks factory in the village,too.
Moving northeast, we meet Kondopoulou. For the name of the village, there are two versions. According to the first, name comes from the association of words around - city, because it is near to the ancient city Hfaisteia. Under the second scenario, in this area, many years ago, there was an old farming settlement which was held in a person called Kontopoulos
Kondopouli is a Head-Village with stone houses built on a large plain where cereals are grown. Located near two picturesque lakes, the Salt Lake or Asprolimni where collecting salt many years ago and Chortarolimni which is wetland. Worth to visit the archaeological sites in the area of bay of Bournias. The remains of Hfaisteia, the oldest city of Lemnos, the temple of Kaveiron and the Philoktete's cave on the edge of the cliff.
In the south of the island we find Moudros. The name Moudros against a possible scenario came from a shrapnel (rock of granite from solidified lava) which was near the port where sailors tie their ships. In Moudros, there was a castle in which was the forefront of history of Lemnos for several centuries. This castle destroyed by the Venetians in 1656. In Moudros, there was a monastery which destroyed in Turkish years,too. The Turks burned it along with seven monks because they found some dead Turkish officers in a pit. It said that only two monks survived, who fled to Mount Athos and complained to the abbot of the monastery of Koutloumousiou that the inhabitants had killed the Turks, in order to blame the monks, to dissolve the monastery and to acquire it's land. Then, the abbot, hurled curse to the village, which was solved recently, in summer (August) of 2001.
Moudros is a beautiful picturesque village built on the slopes of a hill in mycho of the homonymous bay. It is one of the largest natural harbors in the country and one of the most important marine habitat of great ecological importance. On the beach of the village is the commercial port where you can find nice restaurants and hotels. In the northern hill of Moudros, you can see the ruins of the castle called Paliokastro.
The sights are the church of Taxiarches, the British cemetery just outside of town on the road for Roussopouli and the Church of Annunciation of the Virgin. The coastal road leads to a beautiful beach filled Tzitzifies and armyrikia, the beach of Agios Pavlos. Even more beautiful are the beaches, Fanaraki and Chavouli.
One of the most beautiful villages of Lemnos is Nea Koutali. Situated in the bay of Moudros amphitheatrically, extends from the pine forest of the Holy Trinity and through houses and yards trimmed drowned in roses and geraniums, up to the picturesque stone harbor, which is full of boats. The refugee village Nea Koutali, built to accept the refugees of Koutali and Marmara, the legendary homeland of Panagi Koutalianou, who managed with the spongefish as the main professional to overcome the difficulties and contribute significantly to the development of the island.
Today, Nea Koutali is a living village where visitors can visit the exhibition of natural sponge and the maritime museum and delivery sponge. It can also taste to the picturesque tavernas, fresh seafood, enjoy a drink in the bars while admiring the beautiful view and enjoy the nightlife in nearby clubs.
Moving across, we find Portianou. The village probably took its name from the fact that it is between two ports (Moudros and Kontia), namely the word "port" means land suitable for the approach of ships. Sights of the village is the folklore museum and the British cemetery. Against tradition, the name of the village Kontia, came from two persons who have a lot of land. The first called Kondeas and the second Xandreas. The first gives his name to the area and the second to the watercourse which is close to the area (Xandrias).
Kontias is one of the most beautiful villages of Lemnos with the pine hill, the ramshackle windmills, the feature local color and the picturesque church which dominates to the top of the hill. Two kilometers away from the Kontia, we find Diapori. Small natural harbor where you can let your small or large vessels. Necessary stop on route for Fako, with coastal taverns and cafes.